BOOK REVIEW: THE UNFAITHFUL WIDOW by

I laughed so much reading “The Unfaithful Widow: Fragmented Memoirs of My First Year Alone” by Barbara Barth that I forgot to cry.  Even now as I write this review I struggle with establishing the proper tone. What is so funny about losing a spouse? The answer: nothing. However, sometimes we do things that make us laugh at ourselves; without ignoring the realities of being alone the author shares some of the more peculiar events of her life.

The book is a series of journal entries divided into seasons beginning with the season her husband died. Within each section are tales of her interactions with other people, and the dogs and a few private letters to God. The journal entry are given titles such as: “Things Not to Say to a Widow”; “The Family Tree”; “On Buying Poise Ultra Pads at the Age of Sixty”; and, the one which I would have been blushing had I not been laughing so much, “The X-Rated Chapter”

You don’t have to be a widow to appreciate “The Unfaithful Widow”. A mature single woman will fully appreciate the crazy dates the author went on, the questions regarding sex and the day to day problems of life alone. Who would not appreciate the dogs.  It is an easy read, it took me a day, and very enjoyable. I recommend it.

I was given a complimentary copy of this book in PDF format in order to give a fair and honest review.

Thank you for your comments.

