THE UGLY SIDE OF WRITING

Young Woman Thinking   I went to bed earlier than usual, 1AM and woke up at my usual time 7:30AM but I did not get out of bed until 8; I was thinking. I had my usual glass of orange juice and a cup of coffee, prayers were said while in bed and so my day began.

Yesterday was suppose to be publishing day a process that should take 2 hours at best. My plan was to begin marketing “My Questions From The Book of Luke” written under the pseudonym M L Floyd BUT the “meat grinder” spit the book back out. The “meat grinder” is Smashwords formatting program that converts a word document into the various eBook formats necessary to sell eBooks appropriate for Kindle, Nook, and other formats. Despite my dedicating the better of 4 hours formatting by the end of the day my book was ready to be viewed but not ready for the beloved “premium” status I wanted.

After correcting the 3 mistakes and resubmitting and getting rejected again! I have to remind myself why I chose to self-publish! Why would anyone want to publish?writer-at-work-sign

I love writing but…..

There is more to be an independent author than coming up with a great story line or presenting an idea on paper. Marketing is a 24 hour a day 7 days a week concept, reality sinks in fast for new authors after they sell the first 100 books to friends and family as well as friends of family. As I tell anyone who ask: Marketing begins before your book is published and years after -you never stop selling.

With The Truth About Vashtai I could not afford a professional editor so I asked for friends to go over the book and find fault. Editing a book is exhausting and as my father the newspaper editor says there will always be something that an editor will overlook. (Yes, he found a flaw in my published book.)  Editors are highly recommended not only by the professionals but most independent writers, myself included.  If you cannot or choose not to use an editor invest in a self-help book such as: Editing Tips for Indie Authors by Norman Price available via Smashwords.

When I write it is for my pleasure, when I edit it is with the reader in mind. Everyone will not like your book, it only hurts when they tell you about it.

The source of my frustration today is not writing, marketing or even editing it is publishing.  Because I have chosen to publish eBooks I have found Smashwords provides the best platform.  I know of a few writers who swear by Amazon however it is not where you book starts it is where it finishes that counts.

When I published The Truth About Vashtai I used the services of Author House to print and format the book. The book can be ordered by all of the major bookstores, is available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.  My first book signing was at Borders and copies were sold at my church as well. The bottom line for me, I sold more books outside of the traditional bookstores than in.

Marketed correctly, your eBook will sell more than print book thus processing via the “meat grinder” is important! Yes, you can pay someone to do this as well.

Do you really want to write a book that someone else will read? Get ready for long days and nights, sitting alone in your room on beautiful days, lots of coffee and frustrating moments. As great as you think your masterpiece is someone else will hate it.

Next week I will finish editing Sister Sharon and prepare to write a novel in 30 days along with my NaNoWriMo buddies. Why? Because it’s like having a baby once you are finished all you see is the beautiful results.

Available via Smashwords
Available via Smashwords
Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “THE UGLY SIDE OF WRITING

  1. Thank you for mentioning my book – Editing Tips for Indie Authors – which I hope will prove helpful to many Independent authors. Good luck with your writing.
    Kind regards
    Norman

Thank you for your comments.

