GOOD WORKS vs GOD WORKS

Many people I know, myself included, have spent 2014 being busy. As I think of those individuals I know the works they have done have been good works. Unfortunately, some of the activity I have done as well as those others have done, as purposeful and good as they may have been, were not God works.

directions sillouette                   – God will not keep your agenda so full that you neglect your health.

– God will not keep you so busy that you neglect your spouse.

– God will not have you traveling so much that you neglect your family.

– God will never call you to do something that will prevent you from spending time with Him.

A few months ago I found myself forgetting little things, neglecting some things and not feeling like doing other things, my plate was too full. I took a few days of doing nothing but spending time with Father God and made a list of all the things I do. Slowly but surely with the help of the Holy Spirit I began to see why some of my works, though good, were not things I did not need to do.
2 people and sunsetToday I still have a full schedule but it is a manageable one. I changed the agencies I work for so that I could focus on a specific market, those who need Final Expense Planning. Freeing up work hours without decreasing my income has allowed me to dedicate more time to writing and serving. The result of tweaking my schedule is free time, time to do absolutely nothing and not be worried about what was not done.
Beginning today it is important to evaluate ALL of your activities. I am sure the things you do have great value and you do it because no one else will; if God does not tell you to do it don’t do it. There are times when an opportunity to do something exciting comes up and you cancel one activity to do the other; stop! Playing catch-up is how you get overwhelmed; honor your commitments but do not commit to anything new until you give yourself that needed down time.
Finally, a lot of your activities are not God works and but good works. It is import to examine your motives. Know why you volunteered for that activity. Is it because of the recognition you will receive? Understand why you are busy from sunrise to sunset. Are you afraid to be alone? Are you lonely and want to fill the time? Are you avoiding a relational issue? Good works are bad works if they prevent you from doing God works. In 2015 dedicate yourself to stop doing good works and start doing God works.

Thank you for your comments.

