I FORGIVE YOU

written by M L Floyd     Forgiveness is not just a one day thing. True forgiveness is a process particularly when the person who hurt you, physically, emotionally or even financially, is someone you trusted unconditionally. When you give your all and someone abuses your gift it hurts to the core.

When I think about the people whom I have had to forgive over the years I realize it was easier to forgive my abusive ex-husband than others. I am thinking of an incident in which I was the most vulnerable and I was hurt emotionally, the scars are still present but healing.

Jesus scars are still present:

John 20:27 NKJV
“ Then He said to Thomas, “Reach your finger here, and look at My hands; and reach your hand here, and put it into My side. Do not be unbelieving, but believing.””

Jesus is the ultimate example of what forgiveness is. He did not condemn us because of all the wrongs we have done and do instead He loves us.

2 Corinthians 5:21 the New King James Version
For He made Him who knew no sin to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.

Forgiveness is about your relationship with God; it is loving people despite their imperfections. If Jesus endured such a horrid death for me despite me who am I not to forgive? Every time I remember the pain of the past I say: “I forgive you.” Forgiveness is never about fellowship with people who do not love you as you should be loved.

Matthew 6:14-15 NKJV
For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.

Like salvation no one but God knows if you have really forgiven; sometimes we are not aware of forgiveness hidden in our heart. Making a verbal confession of faith in front of the church meets with the approval of the congregation, telling a person who hurt you that you forgive them is the right thing to do but this does not necessarily mean that you are sincere in your words. As memories come to mind about the hurtful incident there may be a need to forgive again, and again and again.

I recognize that I have hurt people and to them I have offered my apologies, even to my ex-husband I have apologized for any wrong he may have felt I committed against him. I have forgiven those who have hurt me in the past and for some I work diligently, with the power of the Holy Spirit, to restore the relationship. For those I have hurt and am unaware of the sadness I have caused you: I am sorry please forgive me.
During the time in which we celebrate our salvation through Jesus the Son of God it is a good time to reflect on our own hearts. We know that He died so that we would have everlasting life with our Father in heaven. Through Him we prosper financially and we have excellent health even as our soul increases in wisdom and knowledge that comes from God.

Forgive those who have hurt you because He forgave you first.   xxx M L FLOYD

Silhouettes of Three Crosses

Thank you for your comments.

