Don’t Forget to Praise

“I say then: Walk in the Spirit, and you shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh.” Galatians 5:16 NKJV

I am not going to breakdown the word lust, most people associate the word with sexual pleasures -it’s more than that. I am reminded of this verse because I was on the verge of a very HUGE pity party despite just finishing a chapter in my book on “distractions.” But God…

Have you ever experienced a “but God” moment? This happens when you after stepping out of the boat and briefly walking on water and you are going to sink but God – reaches out His hand and rescues you.
A “but God” moment happens when you are surrounded by people who want to kill you because you had sexual intercourse with someone who was not your husband but God intervened a said the one who is without sin should throw the first stone. And you lived.

While you are seeking the Lord’s intervention for your sick child a so-called friend comes to tell you she is dead. You get home to see friends and family crying and offering you words of condolences. But God stops by and commanded “tulitha cumi” and your little girl got up.

The Bible is full of “but God” moments because we focus on the natural and not on the supernatural. We focus on the flesh, the tangible things of life and we solve problems based on what makes the flesh feel better-lust.

“But He said to them, “Why are you fearful, O you of little faith?” Then He arose and rebuked the winds and the sea, and there was a great calm.” Matthew 8:26 NKJV

I was hard on myself this morning because I allowed the cares of this world to take my eyes off of the promises of my God. I forgot to praise Him. But God reminded me of His promises by leading me to a specific message by Andrew Wommack Ministries: CHRISTIAN SURVIVAL KIT and reminding of the series that is currently showing on television (and I have listened to before) HARDNESS OF HEART. I went to bed listening, I played the CD’s all night long so I could hear them in my sleep, I woke up listening to the messages that I had heard on more than one occasion in the past.
First I whispered: “Praise God” The words served as a release valve as all my troubles left my soul and praise entered my very being. And I began to praise Him some more louder each time. BUT the people around me did not know because this was an inside job.
If you look at me I seem as calm now as I did yesterday when I was on the verge of a spiritual breakdown. I walked calmly, I talked calmly, I was the epitome of calm to the observer I was actually crying inside, asking God what was going to happen. Trials and troubles were building up, the good news is I knew enough to seek Him.
God knew yesterday would happen and He made sure that I would wake up praising Him today- if I was obedient to His command. He sent me to Vision Church-Miami on Sunday Morning where Pastor Mathias gave a message entitled “GOD DOESN’T WANT COMMITTED CHRISTIANS ?” In this message I was reminded of the covenant I have with my Father in heaven.
It is in remembering the covenant and the super-natural abilities of my God that I praise Him again this morning.

 

 

Thank you for your comments.

