MOTIVATION by Marsha L Randolph

MP900438355[1]You have to be able to imagine yourself achieving – doubt is a motivational killer. You should not depend on anyone to encourage you, support you or even be there when you really need him; I am not saying friends will not be there- just don’t depend on them. We can all motivate ourselves when things are going at least OK but when difficulties arise and the words of that best friend become cliche’ doubt can lead to discouragement which may lead to quitting.

I stopped making budgets years ago, everyone I ever made was a failure, now I develop spending plans. Budgets tell me what I cannot do whereas spending plans tell me what I should do.

Goals to me are like mandates: in 3 weeks you have to do this, in 6 weeks you have to do that. I suck at goals! I tried, I really tried when I was part of a business venture that had goals. I just could not do what was expected according to the time frame given.

I think people write goals according to what “they” say. When I was an Independent Sells Representative for a company that focused on things women were interested in I was my best customer. I did not achieve the next level in a year, which is what I was told was possible if I achieved specific goals. I did not sell the specific number of products which would allow me to bring in a comfortable income and I only had one party which was a flop! I was lousy at selling and knowing what I know now I understand why; I never SAW MYSELF as a sells person.

YOU CANNOT MOTIVATE YOURSELF TO DO SOMETHING YOU DON’T SEE YOURSELF DOING!

There is something about following your God given dreams that will keep your going during the worst of times. It is hard to motivate yourself when you hate what you are doing; God will never tell you to do something you hate. You may, however, have to do something that you don’t like for a season.

I was an LPN for over 20 years and I did not like it but I always knew that I would not always be a nurse and that was my motivation. I discovered many years ago my purpose according to God’s plan for me even when I was not doing what I knew I was destined to do the idea of it was my motivating factor.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11 NIV
To many people settle for “good enough” because they do not know how to motivate themselves to get to where they once dreamed of going. Years of failed life budgets have resulted in self positioned obstacles that block the vision. The obstacles are excuses:
We lock ourselves in ideas of methodology that prevent the ability to make course corrections. It is important to develop a plan of action it is equally important to admit when a plan is not working.
We allow distractions to take us off our path. There will always be something else that needs attention- that’s life. Opportunities to do something different will occur. Friends, family, television, telephone calls, social media and invitations to special events can take us off task.
We seek validation from people who don’t share the dream. It is unfair and a waste of time to expect other people to fully participate in our dream.
Listening to the experts. Seeking professional advice is a good thing however it is important to tailor plans to reflect individual uniqueness. Not being able to do something exactly like the expert suggested can lead to discouragement.
We become too consumed with the goal and get out of balance. Neglecting our health, putting off family time, and not spending time to rest and reflect will lead to frustration.
Not enjoying the journey. Quitting is easier when your goals do not support your vision.
“Write the vision and make it plain on tablets that he may run who reads it. For the vision is yet for an appointed time; but at the end it will speak, and it will not lie. Though it tarries, wait for it; because it will surely come it will not tarry.” Habakkuk 2:2-3 NKJV

Expecting instant gratification is a vision killer. I Knew in 1996 that I was going to be a writer but because I was taking Ministry classes I thought I would be writing non-Fiction. My first book was fiction: THE TRUTH ABOUT VASHTAI published in 2010. In 1996 I did not know: what a blog was, I did not have a laptop, I knew nothing about self publishing nor did I know how to incorporate what I do into a how-to book. It took time to develop the vision and it I am seeing more detail everyday.

A final observation regarding finding your motivation:

YOU CANNOT MOTIVATE YOURSELF WITHOUT REMEMBERING GOD’S PROMISES
Faith is the life plan glasses that will give you the 20/20 vision needed. There is a set time, an appointed time as to when you will reach your destiny. If you cannot enjoy the journey then you might be on the wrong path.

Thank you for your comments.

