STOP DESTROYING YOURSELF by Marsha L Randolph

There are over 1 thousand reasons why you can’t do something but only one reason why you can: because it is what you were meant to do. When a person says “I can’t” it should be because they don’t have time: “I can’t go to the movies with you I am doing some research and a movie would delay my progress.”

portrait of a group of people standing together --- Image by © Royalty-Free/Corbis
      by © Royalty-Free/Corbis

 

One of the things I have to do when I am motivating myself is to stay away from discouraging people. For every five minutes of conversation I have with one of these personality types I spend a half a day reminding myself that they do not know everything. It is a problem because I know a lot of negative speaking people, they do not do it intentionally but they do it.

Many of the people I speak to have a victim attitude in which they believe “they won’t let” them accomplish a goal. This popular theme associated with lack of success is supported by the large number of organization designed to validate victimhood: American Civil Liberties Union (though they occasionally do right a wrong), Rainbow Coalition, NAACP, National Organization for Women and any other program that is designed to remind people of their gender, skin color or lifestyle. Far to many people have grown up hearing about how one culture keeps another culture down; if you are the suppressor you are suppose to feel guilty, if you are the suppressed you are a victim and will not be able to succeed. The good news is there are numerous people who ignored “they” and became successful despite their words, behaviors and ideologies.

chained minde womanI don’t know anyone who does not put off doing what they dream of doing it is called procrastination. There are lots of reasons why we procrastinate: “I can’t,” “they won’t let me,” or “now is not a good time.” The truth is people are afraid and do not want to face their fear.

Fear is at the basis of many peoples inactivity. In order to fulfill your God given talent and maximize your potential you have to step out of your comfort zone and live. You must share your identity, often with people who do not know you but will judge you without the foundation of a loving relationship, and face possible rejection. All do not think you are so great and your ideas, in their opinion, may suck! Failure is the foundation for success fear stops you from failing.

chained mind manYou destroy yourself by giving into the opinions of the world. By allowing the media and various organizations tell you that you are a victim because you are: female, African-American, Latino, Hispanic, or whatever you set yourself up for failure. Victims must become victors in order to live victoriously. It is amazing the number of Bible quoting Christians who fall victim of the same mindset and avoid success with self destructive words and activities.

Failing is a part of success, you will not know what works until you discover what does not work. If your first marriage was a disaster- you know what does not work in a relationship. I was in six different multi-level marketing businesses that did not work however I knew that I wanted to own my own business so despite the opinions of others I started my own business- those failures taught me: 1) what I did not know 2) what I do not want to do and 3)gave me excellent experience.

There really is no such thing as an overnight success, you have to be willing to dedicate time and energy into doing what it is you want to do. Not everyone wins the lottery, you will not be an instant millionaire chances are if you are starting a business you will be in the negative for a year a two.

As a writer the quarterly royalty checks are barely enough to put gas in my tank. This is the reality of competing with thousands of other writers in a market in which there are very few people who want to read “clean” fiction or non-fiction that stimulates thought. Five years after my first novel was published: THE TRUTH ABOUT VASHTAI, I am not discouraged. I am a writer even if other people see me as the woman who sells soy candles, homemade soap and quilts.

My message to you: Just do what you do and stop listening to people who have yet to reach their own potential. No matter who you are, where you started, or how you got to where you are now as a child of God you can do all things THROUGH Christ if you keep your eyes on Him. This is what I am doing- SEE YOU AT THE TOP!

The Truth About Vashtai Cover

Thank you for your comments.

